Sunshine bars for rainy days

Being a baker, it’s a safe assumption that you should love all thing’s chocolate. Whilst I find no challenge in demolishing a 390g bar of Galaxy in less than 24 hours during the festive period, I’ve never really had the same love for chocolate in any other form that it’s pure, solid, gluttonous, brown chunks. Cakes, brownies, muffins, however you disguise it, it’s just not for me. Sugar laden white chocolate on the other hand, is a different story. 100g bars of Lidl’s finest seems to find their way into my cheesecakes, frosting, drizzled over cakes & biscuits with ease.

Now, whilst white chocolate is just as good on its own merit, you simply must try it in a blondie once in your life. A blondie is merely the paler cousin of the brownie, just as squidgy, sugar rich & decadent but different in colour.

The story behind these summery little squares? Having fallen in love with the blondie a fair few moons ago, you don’t often find them readily available. It was an afternoon visit to the Marina Market, our local independent market selling a whole host of glorious, locally produced products. Obviously, it’s the food stalls for me (I never fail to return home without a loaf of real sourdough). Luckily, I’ve started to convert my other half to the world of good food, a challenge for a man whose diet mainly consist of burritos, frozen pizzas & jumbo Twix bars. Something had attracted his attention (baked goods) & there, lone and behold, was a wonderful array of blondies. My eyes widened, that was the first time it had ever occurred to me that these scrumptious little squares could be flavoured. So I set out on a mission to recreate this joy, and I’m pleased to bring you my lemon blondies.

DSCN0563


LEMON BLONDIES

Ingredients:

  • 230g butter
  • 430g light soft brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • zest x2 lemons
  • 250g plain flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 100g white chocolate, chopped into fairly large chunks

Method:

  • melt the butter & sugar together in a large saucepan
  • allow to cool for about 15 mins
  • beat in the egg, vanilla extract & lemon zest
  • add the flour & salt, beat until smooth
  • stir through the white chocolate
  • pour mixture into a 13×9 rectangular tin, greased & lined with parchment
  • bake at 175c for 25 minutes until there is just a slight wobble in the centre
  • leave to cool in tin before slicing

 

spoon


Whilst I can’t guarantee that these will clear the constant grey hue that is the Welsh sky, they will easily banish those rainy day blues & bring the, sometimes much needed, hint of sunshine.

Note: I demolished my original inspiration for these in less than a minute.

Leave a Reply

