Birthdays, spice & bakeries

It’s been a busy week of celebrations in this uncharacteristically grey July that I’m ashamed to say  my poor kitchen has been rather neglected. Having just returned from a break in London in celebration of my 21st 27th birthday & coincidentally a recent promotion at work, it’s been a week of markets, bakery-hopping, museums & raiding Fortnum’s tea supplies. Burrito boy well & truly exceeded himself in the present giving stakes as he presented me with something my kitchen has longed for, my very own Kitchenaid! (the boy did good, my grin has yet to subside).

For the last few years it’s become routine to spend some time in London around my birthday, I love the contrast; the lifestyle, the hustle & bustle, & the variety compared with quiet green of home. During which time, I have eaten my way around town; from afternoon tea at The Langham & Claridges, dinner at Jamie’s Fifteen & obscure tapas bars, the glorious array of street foods of Borough Market & of course the many, many bakeries. One of my favourite haunts when in town is the delightfully Scandinavian, Nordic Bakery. For me, they sell some of the best buns around (their almond twist is a must). The very first place that I took burrito boy during our first time away together (he was still trying to impress me back then & so bought me the book to go with my tosca bun),  it holds fond memories. Upon return home I immediately set about trying to recreate some of the fantastic flavours, cardamom was not a spice which I had experienced. It’s flavour was distinct, almost citrus & floral at once, a very aromatic spice which lends itself very well to baking. So, I bring you my endeavour, a well spiced, moist little bundt that encapsulates that Scandinavian flavour of baking which they do so well.

DSCN8271



CARDAMOM CAKE
(bundt cake)

Ingredients:

  • 100g butter
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 150g buttermilk
  • zest x1 lemon & orange
  • 2 eggs
  • 250g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp ground cardamom

Method:

  • in a large bowl cream together the butter, caster sugar & buttermilk
  • add the eggs, one at a time
  • add the flour, baking powder, zest & cardamom to the mixture & beat until thoroughly combined
  • bake at 180C for 1 hour
  • cool in the tin for 10 minutes before removing & allowing to cool fully on a cooling rack

For the icing:

  • squeeze the juice from the zested orange & combine with enough icing sugar to make a runny icing to drizzle over the cake

 

spoon


 

Leave a Reply

