Iconic indulgence

Cheesecake… dense, creamy, light, crumbly & oh so satisfying. In our house it never lasts long, as both myself & burrito boy sneak inhumanly sized portions from out of the fridge & my cheesecake replicates ,an albeit slower, Pacman style death.

IMG_1748

You can imagine my rejoice when creating my usual (extensive) list of travel must-eats for my recent trip to New York, topped of course with bagels, pretzels & my favourite creamy dessert (I ate an awful lot during my 3 days).

New York cheesecake is pure, unadulterated cheesecake with no fancy ingredients added or placed on top. What differentiates a New York cheesecake from your regular cheesecake is it reliance on heavy cream or soured cream to produce its enticing consistency. If you were to ask any New Yorker where to find the best, genuine article then they would probably point you in the direction of one of its many deli’s or gourmet restaurants.

This is advice which I followed as I headed downtown to the tiny but prestigious Eileen’s Special Cheesecake in Nolita, just a stonesthrow from Little Italy & Chinatown. As the name would suggest, this little bakery serves but one thing.. cheesecake. Not just any cheesecake however, Eileen’s serves just about every flavour imaginable which come in both large & individual sizes. Sticking to my morals (by not sampling every flavour), I opted for a plain individual cheesecake in order to experience a true flavor of New York, I was not disappointed.

IMG_1303

It was 26C outside & I had just walked from beneath the Brooklyn Bridge, meandering through Little Italy in an attempt to find my food icon. Eileen’s was a chilled, sweet-filled haven, offering a more than worthy respite from my busy sightseeing schedule. Cheesecake was my reward.

Creamy, light, not overly sweet & with the slight tang that can only originate from the presence of soured cream, this New York cheesecake was the perfect balance. Obviously, upon my return to sunny Wales, after unpacking, sorting through an amass of near 900 photos (quite an achievement I think) & hiding the Reeces Pieces, I of course had to recreate this.

IMG_1734

New York is a city that will forever remain with me, not just for its eats but for its absolute charisma. I fell in love with this ever-changing city, with its neck-aching skyscrapers, made-for-people-watching parks, high-end shopping, diverse architecture, enthusiastic locals, hurried & helpful commuters (sorry NY but the Subway isn’t a scratch on the Underground), eclectic markets, charming diners & the fact that you can buy anything from pretzels to fruit in the dead of night. So, whilst I still long to return to the iconic Big Apple, I can at least suppress my feelings of loss with the indulgent comfort of dessert.

IMG_1725


NEW YORK CHEESECAKE
(makes one 23cm cheesecake)

Ingredients:

For the base:

  • 250g digestive biscuits
  • 1tbsp demerera sugar
  • 65g butter

For the filling:

  • 800g full-fat cream cheese
  • 180g caster sugar
  • 285ml soured cream
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 tbsp plain flour
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • zest x1 lemon

Method:

  • Grease & line the best of a 23cm round cake tin
  • To make the base, blitz the digestives in a food processor until they resemble fine breadcrumbs, empty into a large bowl & add the demerera sugar
  • Melt the butter & pour this over the digestives
  • Mix together until all of the biscuit crumbs have been coated with the butter
  • Tip into the cake tin & press the biscuit mixture into the base & slightly up the sides of the cake tin using the back of a spoon
  • Bake the base at 180C for 10 minutes, remoe & allow to cool
  • To make the filling, place all of the ingredients into a large bowl & whisk together, leave this to rest for 10-15 minutes to avoid any bubbles in the mixture when baking
  • Pour the cheesecake filling over the biscuit base
  • Bake at 160°C for 1 hour 15 minustes, until the cheesecake has a light golden colour on top & a slight wobble in the middle when shaken
  • Open the oven door, leave ajar & allow the cheesecake to cool completely in the oven before removing & placing in the fridge

whisk

Leave a Reply

